Music [on] my radar

Right now I feel as if all the music gods have combined to rain down audio goodness.  This is perfect timing as there’s also a lot of actual rain falling down on me as I walk to and from work, courtesy of the four or five-day-old city-wide transport strike and Brussels reverting to its uniform grey after a beautiful two weeks.  I almost don’t mind it because I get to listen to these sweet tunes.

Pa Pa Power – Dead Man’s Bones

At the risk of echoing a million and one previous comments… can Ryan Gosling do no wrong?  As well as being beautiful and funny and a talented actor, he’s a musician for crying out loud.  His band (with Zach Shields, also awesome) is really good too.  He even sings in old people’s homes.  With a choir of KIDS.  About monsters and ghosts.  And he plays the banjo.

Gold on the Ceiling – The Black Keys

I’m admittedly a latecomer to the Black Keys fan club.  I appreciated some of their earlier stuff, but it didn’t stay on repeat.  I can’t get El Camino off the loop since my first listen.  Every track is brilliant.

My Sincerest Apologies – Kids

Addictive Swedish electropop.  Thanks to delicious days for the introduction!

Simple Song – The Shins

A new Shins album?  Don’t mind if I do!  (Thanks Dave for telling me!)  I haven’t yet got a favourite from this album, needs more of a listen, but this is a cool creative video, and a catchy tune.

Pumped Up Kicks – Foster The People

I’ve been listening to this religiously since New Year’s (thanks Matt!) and still not sick of it.  It was certainly a fave on our recent trip to Egypt too.  Looking forward to a future FTP album.  Silver Dollar Circus also did a very decent cover of the song.

Stay the Same – The Shoes

This French band garnered a bit of attention with its violent video featuring Jake Gyllenhaal.  I find it disturbing, but I do like their ’80s sound.  Much in common with J.U.S.T.I.C.E.

Under Your Spell – Desire

Still haven’t yet watched Drive (more Ryan), but can’t get enough of this beautiful song.  Great album too.

May 2012 continue to bear delicious musical fruit!  Keep an eye on my vodpod (top right corner) for more of my picks.  And let me know yours, always keen to discover new music!

© May Guise’s wundiverse, 2012

2 thoughts on “Music [on] my radar

Leave a Reply

